Jordan Olexyn – Meet the first MPT-North Cohort

Jordan Olexyn

Hometown: Prince George, British Columbia

What inspired you to pursue your program?

I always knew I wanted to do something in the medical industry where I actually got to work with people, but I was afraid that if I became a GP then I wouldn’t have any time for my family. When I was in my second last year of Secondary school, I sprained my ankle about a week before I was supposed to compete in a snowboarding event, and take part in a skills camp where I was being scouted to play University football. I needed to maximize my recovery in a short amount of time and was introduced to the field of physiotherapy. Seeing the impact I could have on my community while still being able to pursue my extracurricular passions, I knew at that moment my career path had been decided.

How has your experience in the MPT-North program been so far?

Having worked as a Kinesiologist for the past 2.5 years, it has been a process of remembering how to be a student again. The hardest part by far has been adapting to schooling during a pandemic, but the amount of in-person sessions has helped to ease this transition. That being said, I feel that both my work and undergraduate experiences have done a tremendous job preparing me for the content of a fast-paced first year!

Where are you hoping the MPT-North program takes you?

Somewhere small and rural, be that in the North, the Kootenays, or beyond! Eventually, my partner and I are planning to open a multidisciplinary holistic health care clinic in a smaller town to provide more comprehensive treatment in communities that are under-resourced.

What is the best piece of advice you have received?

Your clients don’t care how much you know until they know how much you care! Take the time to remember that you are treating a person that came to see you, not a condition.

What was your first job?

Unofficially, I worked on construction sites with my father growing up and delivered newspapers. Officially, I was a grocery floor-person at Save-On foods.

Favourite hobby or recreational activity?

Anything that gets me outdoors and immersed in nature, especially in the mountains like when I’m snowboarding, camping, hiking, canoeing, and trail running with my dog!